Show transcript Play Pause


Founding of the Westphalian University of Münster

The Catholic Academy existing in Münster since the 18th century is upgraded by Emperor Wilhelm II to become the Westphalian University of Münster. It is named after Emperor Wilhelm I. 

The first six women register to study at the University of Münster upon approval of women for studies in Prussian universities in the year 1908. Hedwig Montag is one of the six. In 1914 she completes her state examinations for the teaching profession at the University of Münster.