Show transcript Play Pause


Establishment of the Prussian Province of Westphalia

As a consequence of the Congress of Vienna, Prussia gains significant additional territory in the west. The provinces of Jülich-Cleves-Berg, Lower Rhine and Westphalia are established. Münster is declared the capital city of the Province of Westphalia. The Prussian general and politician Eberhard von der Recke (1744-1816) accepts the act of hereditary homage (promise of loyalty) in Münster for all Westphalian estates on 18 October 1815 in the name of the Prussian King Frederick William III (1770-1840).