LWL-Industriemuseum Schiffshebewerk Henrichenburg

LWL-Industriemuseum Schiffshebewerk Henrichenburg

Address

Am Hebewerk 26
45731 Waltrop

 Visit website

 Facebook

 Instagram

Opening hours

Di-So 10-18 Uhr

Pricing

Adults € 4
Groups of 16 people: € 3.50 per person
Children/young adults from 6 to 17 years and pupils € 2
Pupils when participating in museum-educational events (2 accompanying persons free) € 1.10
reduced € 2.50*
Family day ticket € 9
LWL-MuseumsCard is available
Combination tickets for industry museum and exhibition hall are available at the new gate

* recipients of running benefits in accordance with Sozialgesetzbuch II and XII, students (exception: "mature studies"), apprentices, performers of national voluntary services, dependants in voluntary social and ecological year, severely disabled persons from 80% (accompanying person free)
 

Eat and Drink

"Gastrobus" (open all year) and café "Schatzinsel" (summer months only) 
www.gastrobus.de

How to get here

A 2 Oberhausen – Hanover / exit Castrop-Rauxel/Henrichenburg. Then follow signs to "Schiffshebewerk".


Public transport

Bus route 284/231 towards Brambauer – Waltrop – Recklinghausen to the Hebewerk bus stop (bus 284 leaves from Brambau traffic yard and changes its route number to 213 in Waltrop, Am Moselbach).

The Henrichenburg ship lift has been the most spectacular building construction on the Dortmund-Ems canal since 1899. At the end of the 1960s the gigantic elevation construction, once celebrated as a masterpiece of engineering, was decommissioned, restored in 1982 and then inaugurated in 1992 as a museum for waterways and inland waterway transport. From the bridge between the two main towers, visitors see the details of the steel construction and enjoy an overview across the highly interesting museum site. In the historic machine hall they find out how the canal and lifting facility were built. Unique in our collection are floating work equipment and historic ships lying in the surface water of the elevating facility. In the cargo space of the "Franz Christian" motorised cargo ship, an exhibition documents the lives and work of an inland waterway family 50 years ago.

The crowd cheered when Emperor William II ceremonially commissioned the Henrichenburg ship lifting works and thus also the Dortmund-Ems canal on 11 August 1899. The canal marked the start of constructing the waterway connection between the Rhein, Weser and Elbe. In the form of the ship lifting facility, the similarly far-reaching yet disputed Prussian prestige project gained a spectacular and internationally respected symbol. This is the reason why the Prussian state coat of arms was applied to its architecture.

It was not only the west German canals that were designed and constructed under Prussian management. On certain sections of the canals Prussia also implemented the towing, i.e. transport of the barges with tugs. The "Royal Towing Facility" was thus a royal Prussian towing operation between 1914 and 1921, also deemed a "monopoly". This was also clearly visible – until 1921 the chimneys of every steam towing vessel bore the Prussian Eagle in addition to the vehicle number.

The reconstructed Prussian royal coat of arms on the head of the old Henrichenburg ship elevating works
Historic photograph of the ship elevating facility construction, 1894-1899

Contact details for booking event and placement offers

Telefonnummer

02363 9707-0

Fax

02363 9707-12

E-Mail

schiffshebewerk@lwl.org

Tourism partner

Touristen-Info / Stadt Waltrop Bürgerbüro 
Münsterstraße 1 
45731 Waltrop 
Tel. 02309 930-355 
buergerbuero@waltrop.de

Ruhr Tourismus GmbH http://www.ruhr-tourismus.de/
Centroallee 261
46047 Oberhausen 
Tel. 0208 89959-0
info@ruhr-tourismus.de
 

Nearby locations

LWL-Industriemuseum Schiffshebewerk Henrichenburg

LWL-Industriemuseum Schiffshebewerk Henrichenburg

Adresse

Am Hebewerk 26

45731 Waltrop

 Webseite besuchen

 Facebook

 Instagram

Öffnungszeiten

Di-So 10-18 Uhr

Preise

Erwachsene 4 €

Gruppen ab 16 Personen je Person 3,50 €

Kinder/Jugendliche von 6 bis einschließlich 17 Jahren, Schüler 2 €

Schüler bei Teilnahme an einem museumspädagogischen Angebot (2 Begleiter frei) 1,10 €

ermäßigt 2,50 €*

Familientageskarte 9 €

LWL-MuseumsCard erhältlich

Kombi-Karten für Industriemuseum plus Ausstellungshalle an der neuen Schleuse erhältlich

* Bezieher von laufenden Leistungen nach den Sozialgesetzbüchern II und XII, Studierende (mit Ausnahme „Studium im Alter“), Auszubildende, Bundesfreiwilligendienst-Leistende, Angehörige im freiw. soz. u. ökol. Jahr, schwerbehinderte Menschen ab 80% (Begleitperson frei)

Essen und Trinken

„Gastrobus“ (ganzjährig) und Café „Schatzinsel“ (Sommermonate)

www.gastrobus.de

Anfahrt mit dem Auto

A 2 Oberhausen – Hannover / die Abfahrt Castrop-Rauxel/Henrichenburg. Dann den Wegweisern "Schiffshebewerk" folgen.

Anfahrt mit ÖPNV

Buslinie 284/231 Richtung Brambauer - Waltrop - Recklinghausen bis Haltestelle Hebewerk (der Bus 284 fährt ab Brambauer Verkehrshof und wechselt in Waltrop, Am Moselbach, seine Liniennummer in 231).

Seit 1899 ist das Schiffshebewerk Henrichenburg das spektakulärste Bauwerk am Dortmund-Ems-Kanal. Ende der 1960er Jahre wurde der gigantische Aufzug, einst als Meisterleistung der Ingenieurskunst gefeiert, stillgelegt, seit 1982 restauriert und 1992 als Museum für Wasserstraßen und Binnenschifffahrt eröffnet. Von der Brücke zwischen den beiden Oberhaupttürmen erkennen die Besucherinnen und Besucher die Details der Stahlkonstruktion und genießen den Überblick über das spannende Museumsgelände. In der historischen Maschinenhalle erfahren sie, wie der Kanal und das Hebewerk gebaut wurden. Einzigartig ist unsere Sammlung schwimmender Arbeitsgeräte und historischer Schiffe, die im Oberwasser des Hebewerks liegen. Im Laderaum des Motorgüterschiffs „Franz Christian“ informiert eine Ausstellung über Arbeit und Leben einer Binnenschifferfamilie vor 50 Jahren.

Die Menge jubelte, als Kaiser Wilhelm II. am 11. August 1899 das Schiffshebewerk Henrichenburg und damit den Dortmund-Ems-Kanal feierlich in Betrieb nahm. Der Kanal bildete den Auftakt zum Bau einer Wasserstraßen-Verbindung zwischen Rhein, Weser und Elbe. Mit dem Schiffshebewerk erhielt das ebenso weitreichende wie umstrittene Prestige-Projekt Preußens ein spektakuläres, international beachtetes Symbol. Deshalb ziert das preußische Staatswappen seine Architektur.

Nicht nur die westdeutschen Kanäle wurden unter preußischer Regie geplant und gebaut. Auf bestimmten Kanalabschnitten übernahm Preußen auch den Schleppbetrieb, den Transport der Kähne mit Hilfe von Schleppern. Der „Königliche Schleppbetrieb“ war demzufolge zwischen 1914 und 1921 ein Königlich preußischer Schleppbetrieb, auch als „Monopol“ bezeichnet. Das war auch deutlich sichtbar: Bis 1921 erschien auf dem Schornstein eines jeden Dampfschleppers neben der Fahrzeugnummer der preußische Adler.

Das rekonstruierte preußische Königswappen am Oberhaupt des alten Schiffshebewerks Henrichenburg
Historische Aufnahme vom Bau des Schiffshebewerks, 1894-1899

Kontaktdaten zur Buchung von Veranstaltungs- und Vermittlungsangeboten

Telefonnummer

02363 9707-0

Fax

02363 9707-12

E-Mail

schiffshebewerk@lwl.org

Tourismus-Partner

Touristen-Info / Stadt Waltrop Bürgerbüro
Münsterstraße 1
45731 Waltrop
Tel. 02309 930-355
buergerbuero@waltrop.de

Ruhr Tourismus GmbH http://www.ruhr-tourismus.de/

Centroallee 261
46047 Oberhausen

Tel. 0208 89959-0
info@ruhr-tourismus.de

Interessantes in der Nähe