LWL-Industriemuseum Zeche Hannover

Opening hours

April - October
Wed. - Sat. 2 pm to 6 pm, Sun. 11 am to 6 pm
 

Pricing

Free entry

Eat and Drink

Restaurant in the mine fan building with adjacent beer garden
https://www.gastronomie-zeche.de/
 

How to get here

A40, exit 33 Bochum-Hamme, B 226 Dorstener Straße towards Herne-Eickel, 3rd crossing left Riemker Straße towards Herne-Eickel, Magdeburger Straße, at the roundabout the 2nd exit Edmund-Weber-Straße, 2nd traffic light left Hordeler Straße in Eickel and Günnigfelder Straße until the museum car park.

A 43, exit 15 Herne-Eickel, L657 Holsterhauserstraße towards Herne-Holsterhausen, left onto the B 226 Dorstener Straße towards Bochum, 3rd crossing right Riemker Straße towards Herne-Eickel, Magdeburger Straße, at the roundabout the 2nd exit Edmund-Weber-Straße, 2nd traffic light left Hordeler Straße in Eickel and Günnigfelder Straße until the museum car park.


Parking spaces available
 

Public transport

"Hannoverstraße" bus stop on bus route 368 (from Wanne-Eickel station towards Ruhrpark and from Bochum station towards Wanne-Eickel), per foot via Hannoverstraße and Grubenweg to the colliery site is approx. 300 metres.
or
"Röhlinghauser Straße" bus stop on bus route 390 (Von Herne station towards Bochum-Dahlhausen, and Bochum, Wattenscheid-Höntrop S towards Herne) per foot along the Günnigfelder Straße is approx. 400 metres.
 

The winding tower of the Hannover Colliery reaches up into the sky of the north of Bochum like a mediaeval castle. The primary object of attraction in the machine hall is the winding engine from the year 1893. The museum puts this facility into motion during demonstration performances.

An atmosphere of hard work characterises the interior of the hefty Malakow tower. It was here that miners entered the shaft at a depth of 750 metres to extract coal – until the Hannover Colliery closed in 1973 as the very last mine in Bochum.

The main themes in the museum are now the industrial heritage of the Ruhr Area and the history of its immigration. 

Girls and boys can playfully get to know the operation of sequences in a mine in the "Zeche Knirps" children's mine. 

The name of the colliery refers to the Kingdom of Hanover that was annexed by the victorious Kingdom of Prussia following its defeat in the "Reichseinigungskrieg" [Empire Unification War] in 1866. The merchant Carl Hostmann, founder of the colliery, came from the town of Celle in the Kingdom of Hanover. As a patriot he named the mine in the Prussian province after his homeland. 
One of the main themes of the museum is the history of immigration into the Ruhr Area that in its beginnings has strong Prussian accents. The many immigrants from the Prussian eastern provinces were collectively known in the Ruhr Area as the "Polish". The Prussian power elites judged them, as workers and Catholics with Polish culture, to be triply suspicious in the time of class- and culture struggles.

Mocking postcard, Polish miners in Westphalia. The song text reflects common clichés about the "Ruhr Polish" who emigrated to the Ruhr Area from the East Prussian provinces.
The 3-part lithography shows the Fried cast steel factory. Krupp in Essen seen from above. The artists Otto Bollhagen and Fritz Jacobsen created the work in 1911/12. The Hannover Colliery was the first coal mine acquired by the Essen industrial entrepreneur Alfred Krupp in 1872 for supplying his cast steel factory. The Krupp companies grew to become the "weapons armoury of the empire" thanks to their close contacts to the Prussian government and Emperor.

Contact details for booking event and placement offers

Telefonnummer

0234 6100-874

Fax

0234 6100-869

E-Mail

zeche-hannover@lwl.org

Tourism partner

Bochum Tourismus http://www.bochum-tourismus.de
Huestraße 21-23
44787 Bochum
Tel 0234-904960
 info@bochum-marketing.de

Ruhr Tourismus GmbH http://www.ruhr-tourismus.de/
Centroallee 261
46047 Oberhausen 
Tel. 0208 89959-0
info@ruhr-tourismus.de
 

Nearby locations

LWL-Industriemuseum Zeche Hannover

LWL-Industriemuseum Zeche Hannover

Adresse

Günnigfelder Straße 251

44793 Bochum

 Webseite besuchen

 Facebook

 Instagram

Öffnungszeiten

April – Oktober

Mi-Sa 14.-18 Uhr, So 11-18 Uhr

Preise

Eintritt frei

Essen und Trinken

Gastronomie im Grubenlüftergebäude mit angrenzendem Biergarten

https://www.gastronomie-zeche.de/

Anfahrt mit dem Auto (Parkmöglichkeiten)

A 40, Abfahrt 33 Bochum-Hamme, B 226 Dorstener Straße Richtung Herne-Eickel, 3. Kreuzung links Riemker Straße Richtung Herne-Eickel, Magdeburger Straße, im Kreisverkehr die 2. Ausfahrt Edmund-Weber-Straße, 2. Ampel links Hordeler Straße in Eickel und Günnigfelder Straße bis Museumsparkplatz.

A 43, Abfahrt 15 Herne-Eickel, L657 Holsterhauserstraße Richtung Herne-Holsterhausen, links auf B 226 Dorstener Straße Richtung Bochum, 3. Kreuzung rechts Riemker Straße Richtung Herne-Eickel, Magdeburger Straße, im Kreisverkehr die 2. Ausfahrt Edmund-Weber-Straße, 2. Ampel links Hordeler Straße in Eickel und Günnigfelder Straße bis Museumsparkplatz.

Parkplatz vorhanden.

Anfahrt mit ÖPNV

Haltestelle "Hannoverstraße" der Buslinie 368 (Von Wanne-Eickel Hbf, Richtung Ruhrpark und von Bochum Hbf, Richtung Wanne-Eickel) Fußweg über Hannoverstraße und Grubenweg bis zum Zechengelände ca. 300 Meter.

Haltestelle "Röhlinghauser Straße" der Buslinie 390 (Von Herne Bf., Richtung Bochum-Dahlhausen, und Bochum, Wattenscheid-Höntrop S, Richtung Herne) Fußweg entlang der Günnigfelder Straße ca. 400 Meter.

Wie eine mittelalterliche Burg ragt der Förderturm der Zeche Hannover in den Himmel des Bochumer Nordens. Prachtstück im Innern der Maschinenhalle ist die Fördermaschine aus dem Jahr 1893. Das Museum setzt sie bei Schauvorführungen in Bewegung.

Die Atmosphäre harter Arbeit prägt das Innere des mächtigen Malakowturms. Hier fuhren die Bergleute in den 750 Metern tiefen Schacht ein, hier kam die Kohle aus der Tiefe zu Tage – bis die Zeche Hannover 1973 als letztes Bochumer Bergwerk schloss.

Zentrale Themen des Museums sind heute die Industriekultur des Ruhrgebiets und die Geschichte der Zuwanderung ins Revier.

Im Kinderbergwerk „Zeche Knirps“ können Mädchen und Jungen spielerisch den Betriebsablauf in einem Bergwerk kennen lernen.

Der Name der Zeche bezieht sich auf das Königreich Hannover, das nach seiner Niederlage im „Reichseinigungskrieg” von 1866 vom siegreichen Königreich Preußen annektiert wurde. Aus der Stadt Celle im Königreich Hannover stammte der Kaufmann Carl Hostmann, der Gründer der Zeche. Als Patriot benannte er das Bergwerk in der preußischen Provinz nach seiner Heimat.

Eines der Hauptthemen des Museums ist die Geschichte der Zuwanderung ins Ruhrgebiet, die in den Anfängen stark preußisch akzentuiert ist. Die zahlreichen Einwanderer aus den preußischen Ostprovinzen wurden im Ruhrgebiet kollektiv als „Polen“ wahrgenommen. Den preußischen Machteleiten erschienen sie in Zeiten des Kulturkampfs und des Klassenkampfes als Arbeiter und Katholiken mit polnischer Kultur gleich dreifach verdächtig.

Spott-Postkarte mit klischeehafter Darstellung eines aus den preußischen Ostprovinzen ins Ruhrgebiet eingewanderten „Ruhrpolens“.
Die dreiteilige Lithografie zeigt die Gussstahlfabrik Fried. Krupp in Essen aus der Vogelperspektive. Die Maler Otto Bollhagen und Fritz Jacobsen erschufen das Werk 1911/12. Die Zeche Hannover war das erste Steinkohlenbergwerk, das der Essener Industrielle Alfred Krupp 1872 zur Versorgung seiner Gussstahlfabrik erwarb. Dank enger Kontakte zur preußischen Regierung und dem Kaiser stieg der Krupp-Konzern zur „Waffenschmiede des Reiches“ auf.

Kontaktdaten zur Buchung von Veranstaltungs- und Vermittlungsangeboten

Telefon

0234 6100-874

 

Fax

0234 6100-869

E-Mail

zeche-hannover@lwl.org

Tourismus-Partner

Bochum Tourismus

http://www.bochum-tourismus.de

Huestraße 21-23

44787 Bochum

Tel 0234-904960

info@bochum-marketing.de

Ruhr Tourismus GmbH

http://www.ruhr-tourismus.de/

Centroallee 261
46047 Oberhausen

Tel. 0208 89959-0
info@ruhr-tourismus.de

Interessantes in der Nähe