Landesarchiv NRW Ostwestfalen-Lippe Department

Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe
Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe
Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe

Address

Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe

 Visit website

 Facebook

Opening hours

Mon. 8 am - 7 pm
Tues. - Thurs. 8 am to 4 pm
Fri. 8 am - 1 pm

Pricing

No admission fee

Eat and Drink

How to get here

Free parking space behind the building


Public transport

From Detmold railway station: Bus routes 702 (Meiersfeld), 772 (Barntrup or Blomberg ) and 780 (Horn-Bad Meinberg) to the Leopoldinum bus stop.
Route 707 travels hourly direct to the Rosenstraße stop.
It takes approximately 25 minutes by foot from the railway station through the town.
 

The Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe is the central contact point for historic research concerning the region of East Westphalia-Lippe and for complete Westphalian genealogy.
Its roots originate in the former Lippischen Landesarchiv existing since the Middle Ages. In 1947 the previously independent Province of Lippe was integrated into the State of North Rhine Westphalia. Connected to this was establishment of the administrative district of Detmold resulting from the merging of Lippe with the former Prussian administrative district of Minden. Initially the archive was responsible for the new government, but its authority was expanded in 1955 to all state offices and authorities in the administrative district. In 1957 it became the third state archive in North Rhine Westphalia, following Düsseldorf and Münster.


The state archive was able to relocate to a newly constructed specialist building in 1963 that also enabled correct storage of the archive holdings. The building was then able to accommodate the files of state authorities from the former administrative district of Minden from 1816 onwards that were previously stored by the Münster state archive. The Detmold building became a twin archive in 1964: by being incorporated into the newly established Westfalen-Lippe civil status archive it experienced a significant expansion. Since that time Detmold is also a popular reception point for family researchers.

In terms of time the archives cover almost 800 years of East Westphalia-Lippe history and range from the Middle Ages to our times. They are structured into four main groups:
 
Province of Lippe
The former Lippe state archive forms the core of today's Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe. The administrative developments of a minor German state are almost completely documented since the end of the 15th century, from the lowest levels to ministerial levels and the judiciary. The oldest document dates from the year 1207 and comes from the records of monasteries dissolved in Lippe in the Reformation. The archive also contains the Lippe parliament archives, the files of the court authorities and Reich Governor for Lippe and Schaumburg-Lippe, the archive of the Westphalian ducal college and the Superior Court of Justice files. With the files of the NSDAP district authorities of Lemgo, Detmold and Lippe, the LAV also has extensive records from the otherwise poorly-documented intermediary authority between district and local group administration.
 
Government of Minden and Detmold
The Minden archives also contain the files of the Minden Prussian Government as well as all administrative and judiciary authorities situated in this district. Records begin in 1816 and end in 1947. These also partly include files from the district, authority and local community administrations. Documents from national authorities and facilities that continued to exist after 1947 or were newly established form the latest group of documents, the "Government District of Detmold". Also contained are documents from police authorities, the judiciary and health- and social administration as well as files from the national authorities such as the financial and labour administration. Maps and plans supplement these records. The sources are regularly enhanced by accepting records from authorities.
 
Collections
The Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe maintains and fosters its collections in order to supplement the national stocks of the archive. This work includes the bequests of important personalities, pictures of persons, buildings and events, posters and pamphlets. Archives from associations and companies are also accepted that have importance for the region. The private nobility archives in Lippe are also housed by the Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe.
 
Civil status archive
The civil status archive accommodates the civil-legislative records from throughout Westphalia and Lippe, i.e. from the administrative districts of Arnsberg, Detmold and Münster. These essentially include church register duplicates from 1779 to 1875, the French-legislative civil status register from 1808 to 1814, the Jewish and dissident register from 1808 to 1876 and the civil status auxiliary register (secondary books) since 1874/76.

Contact details for booking event and placement offers

Telefonnummer

05231 / 766-0

Fax

05231 / 766-114

E-Mail

owl@lav.nrw.de

Tourism partner

Nearby locations

Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe

Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe
Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe
Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe

Adresse

Landesarchiv NRW Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe

 Webseite besuchen

 Facebook

Öffnungszeiten

Mo 8.00-19.00 Uhr

Di-Do 8.00-16.00 Uhr

Fr 8.00- 13.00 Uhr

Preise

Essen und Trinken

Die Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe ist zentrale Anlaufstelle für die historische Forschung in der Region Ostwestfalen-Lippe und für die Genealogie in ganz Westfalen.

Ihre Wurzeln hat sie im ehemaligen Lippischen Landesarchiv, das seit dem Mittelalter existierte. Im Jahr 1947 wurde das bis dahin selbständige Land Lippe in das Bundesland Nordrhein-Westfalen eingegliedert. Damit verbunden war die Bildung des Regierungsbezirks Detmold, der aus dem Zusammenschluss Lippes mit dem ehemaligen preußischen Regierungsbezirk Minden resultierte. Zunächst war das Archiv für die neue Regierung zuständig, doch seine Kompetenzen wurden 1955 auf alle Landesbehörden im Regierungsbezirk ausgedehnt. 1957 wurde es – neben Düsseldorf und Münster – drittes Staatsarchiv in Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Das Staatsarchiv konnte 1963 in einen neu errichteten Zweckbau umziehen und die Archivbestände sachgerecht lagern. In das Haus übernommen wurden die bis dahin im Staatsarchiv Münster lagernden Akten staatlicher Behörden aus dem ehemaligen Regierungsbezirk Minden ab 1816. Aus dem Detmolder Haus wurde 1964 ein Doppelarchiv: Durch Angliederung des neu eingerichteten Personenstandsarchivs Westfalen-Lippe erhielt das Staatsarchiv eine bedeutsame Erweiterung. Seither ist Detmold auch ein gefragter Anlaufpunkt für Familienforscherinnen und -forscher.

Zeitlich umfassen die Bestände annähernd 800 Jahre ostwestfälisch-lippischer Geschichte und reichen vom Mittelalter bis in die Gegenwart. Sie gliedern sich in vier Hauptgruppen:

Land Lippe

Das frühere lippische Landesarchiv bildet den Kernbestand der heutigen Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe. Von der untersten Ebene bis zur Ministerialsphäre und der Justiz ist das Verwaltungshandeln eines deutschen Kleinstaates seit dem ausgehenden 15. Jahrhundert nahezu vollständig dokumentiert. Aus der Überlieferung der in der Reformationszeit aufgelösten Klöster in Lippe stammt die älteste Urkunde aus dem Jahr 1207. Dazu kommen das lippische Landtagsarchiv, die Akten der Hofbehörden und die des Reichsstatthalters für Lippe und Schaumburg-Lippe, das Archiv des westfälischen Grafenkollegiums und die Reichskammergerichtsakten. Mit den Akten der NSDAP-Kreisleitungen Lemgo, Detmold und Lippe besitzt das LAV eine umfassende Überlieferung aus der sonst schlecht dokumentierten Mittelinstanz zwischen Gau- und Ortsgruppenleitung.

Regierung Minden und Detmold

Zum Bestand Minden gehören die Akten der preußischen Regierung Minden sowie sämtlicher innerhalb dieses Bezirks gelegenen Verwaltungs- und Justizbehörden. Die Überlieferung setzt 1816 ein und endet 1947. Dazu gehören zum Teil auch Akten der Kreis-, Amts- und Gemeindeverwaltungen. Die Unterlagen von staatlichen Behörden und Einrichtungen, die nach 1947 weiter existierten oder neu eingerichtet wurden, bilden die jüngste Bestandsgruppe „Regierungsbezirk Detmold“. Nicht zu vergessen sind die Polizeibehörden, die Justiz sowie die Gesundheits- und Sozialverwaltung. Hinzu kommen Akten von Bundesbehörden wie der Finanz- und Arbeitsverwaltung. Karten und Pläne ergänzen diese Überlieferungen. Durch Behördenablieferungen werden diese Bestände regelmäßig erweitert.

Sammlungen

Zur Ergänzung des Archivguts staatlicher Herkunft pflegt die Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe seine Sammlungen. Dazu gehören die Nachlässe wichtiger Persönlichkeiten, Bilder von Personen, Gebäuden und Ereignissen, Plakate und Flugschriften. Übernommen werden auch Vereins- und Firmenarchive, die für die Region bedeutsam sind. Auch die privaten Adelsarchive in Lippe befinden sich als Deposita in der Abteilung Ostwestfalen-Lippe.

Personenstandsarchiv

Das Personenstandsarchiv verwaltet die personenstandsrechtlichen Überlieferungen aus ganz Westfalen und Lippe, d.h. aus den Regierungsbezirken Arnsberg, Detmold und Münster. Dazu gehören im Wesentlichen Kirchenbuchduplikate für die Zeit von 1779 bis 1875, französisch-rechtliche Zivilstandsregister von 1808-1814, Juden- und Dissidentenregister von 1808-1876 sowie die standesamtlichen Nebenregister (Zweitbücher) für die Jahre seit 1874/76.

Kontaktdaten zur Buchung von Veranstaltungs- und Vermittlungsangeboten

Telefonnummer

05231 / 766-0

Fax

05231 / 766-114

E-Mail

owl@lav.nrw.de

Tourismus-Partner

Interessantes in der Nähe